A New Year!

My goodness. What a whirlwind of a year! And now we’re already one month into 2019!

I most often like to talk about children’s books here, but every once in a while I share a glimpse into my world. This is one of those posts. It’s also a book review (of a sort).

In early 2018, I joined a group of folks who decided to do a virtual book group. We started off the year working together through The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. I lasted only a few weeks. Not because I wasn’t enjoying the book (in fact, I’ve recently started over again). But because it was creating too much havoc.

Snip20190205_599

For those who haven’t heard of this book, it is a twelve-week course aimed at guiding participants to greater creativity. It’s not easy. The exercises push hard each week, forcing some deep analysis and exploration of subconscious doubts and beliefs.

It’s also revitalizing.

And it’s not just for authors. Or artists. Or musicians, dancers, or filmmakers. Ms. Cameron describes lawyers and CEOs and investors who have been through her course and excelled at their non-creative careers by letting their creative sides grow. We can all benefit.

So, here I am a year later, after Julia Cameron shook up my entire life, my career, my family. I barely recognize this new Liz when compared with the Liz of January 2018!

I can’t wait to see what the creative recovery journey will bring this time around. (My goal is to make it through to the end!) I highly encourage this book.

The Artist’s Way is just one of many books Julia Cameron has written. She also has a course available at Julia Cameron Live, she has live events, and she has appeared on many podcasts.

Have you read any great books lately?

Leave a comment